From Zissil
Jump to: navigation, search

The Zugot is a reference to the period bridging between the students of the Anshe Knesset Hagedolah and the Tanaim, as well as to the Sages that led these generations. This era lasted for roughly 208 years between 3560 and 3768. Each generation was led by a pair of two Sages, hence the name 'Zugot', literally 'the Pairs'. In total there were five sets of Zugot each having one Sage who served as Nasi and head of the Sanhedrin and the other as Av Beis Din.

Proceeding the Zugot were Shimon HaTzadik followed by his student Antigonus Ish Socho.

1st Set of Zugot Yossi ben Yoezer and Yossi ben Yochanan

2nd Set of Zugot Yehoshua ben Perachya and Nitai haArbeli

3rd Set of Zugot Shimon ben Shetach and Yehuda-ben-Tabai

4th Set of Zugot Shmaya and Avtalyon

5th Set of Zugot Originally was Hillel and Menachem. When Menachem left Shami was appointed in his place.

Could not connect: